Easkey claims 4th consecutive win at Irish Championships

Easkey Britton continues to a blaze a trail on the Irish surf scene, taking her 4th consecutive win at this year’s Irish National Championships.
Irish Champ!
It was an early start on Saturday morning for Irish surfers competing in the Denny Irish Surfing Championships with the first heat in the water at 8.00am at Tullan Strand. With the wave forecast for Sunday looking poor event organisers were eager to complete the event in one day. Towards the end of the day with the tide getting high and dropping swell conditions were challenging for the finals. In the smaller conditions wave selection becomes a priority and a surfer’s ability to make the most of the wave and generate as much power as possible.

Talking to Easkey during the event she commented on the challenge that lay ahead, “Every year it gets harder, the standard keeps going up so I have to push myself to keep lifting my game. The challenge is dealing with the ocean conditions which are constantly changing, having the right mindset and staying focused.”
The Women’s final was an intense 20 minutes with a lot of strategy coming into play to get the best waves. Easkey Britton (Rossnowlagh) with power and style took her fourth consecutive Irish Women’s title knocking Nicole Morgan (Bundoran) into second, Amy May Garvey third and Tahlia Britton fourth. “I didn’t know I’d won till I got back to shore. Whatever the outcome I knew I’d given it my all. I had a game plan before I went out and I stuck to it and luckily it paid off,” said Easkey after her fantastic win. The National Championships was also the final selection event to decide the Denny Irish Surf Team who will be competing at the World Surfing Games in Portugal this October. Congratulations to Easkey who is also hot off her win from the British University Surfing Championships last March where she surfed for the University of Ulster.

Thanks to all who supported the event, especially Denny, Failte Ireland, The Chasin Bull, The Bridge Bar, the Criterion Bar and Bundoran Town Council and congratulations to Bundoran Board Riders for hosting this very successful championships.

1 Cain Kilcullen, Enniscrone, Co Sligo
2 Liam Joyce, Dublin
3 Fergal Smith, Westport, Co Mayo
4 David Blount, Tramore, Co Waterford

1 Easkey Britton, Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal
2 Nicole Morgan, Bundoran, Co Donegal
3 Amy May Garvey, Castlederg, Co Tyrone
4 Tahlia Britton, Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal